Municipal Resolutions

The Ontario government repealed the Green Energy and Green Economy Act in 2019, which returned siting powers to municipal governments. Many municipalities in Ontario demanded these changes. In 2022, Wind Concerns Ontario  released a statement recommending that setbacks between homes and turbines be extended to 2 km. 

Local government may now enact their own zoning bylaws with regard to setback distances and noise limits. Municipalities are being told that they still cannot say No to a wind power project; this is false.  

By repealing this act, we’re restoring planning decisions to municipalities that were stripped by previous government and ensuring local voices have the final say on energy projects in their communities.

Ontario Government

Mandatory Municipal Support

Effective July 22nd, 2015, a total of 89 municipalities were declared an “Unwilling Host”. Find the list below 

Addington Highlands, Lennox and Addington County 

Adelaide-Metcalfe, Middlesex County 

Alfred & Plantagenet, Prescott-Russell County 

Amaranth, Dufferin County

Asphodel-Norwood. Peterborough County 

Algonquin Highlands, Haliburton County 

Armour, District of Parry Sound 

Arran-Elderslie, Bruce County 

Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh, Huron County 

Bayham, Elgin County 

Bluewater, Huron 

Brethour, Timiskaming District 

Brockton, Bruce 

Brockton, Bruce 

Bruce Mines, Algoma District 

Cavan-Monaghan, Peterborough 

Central Elgin, Elgin 

Central Huron, Huron 

Chamberlain, Timiskaming 

Champlain, Prescott-Russell 

Chatsworth, Grey County 

Clarington, Region of Durham 

Dutton-Dunwich, Elgin 

Dufferin, County

East Ferris, Nippissing District 

East Hawkesbury, Prescott-Russell 

Edwardsburgh, Leeds and Grenville County 

Elgin, County

Elizabeth-Kitley, Leeds and Grenville 

Essex, Essex County

*Denotes a member of this organization sits on the Board of Directors for Wind Concerns Ontario 

© Copyright 2022 | WCO | Wind Concerns Ontario

to top